Quick Search:

Browse Subjects

Full Search

Place Your Order

Privacy Policy

Terms of Business

Help & FAQ


Fabulous Brighton
edited by Elizabeth Counihan, Deirdre Counihan & Liz Williams

Subject: Science Fiction / Fantasy
Publisher: Shrew Press (UK)

Edition Our Price inc. p&p Status
first edition trade paperback, 108pp, ISBN 0953848108, 2000 UK: £4.99
Europe: £7.75
USA: £8.80
Elsewhere: £9.25
in stock

Fabulous Brighton cover

    Elizabeth Counihan's "Message in a Bottle" ... a marvellous journey back in time ... a tour de force. Lynn Truss's "The Green Man" and Nick Szczepanik's "Hove Druid: I Stole Stone to Save Seagulls" embarrassed me by making me laugh out loud on the train.
    The highlight of the book, for me, was Nick Szczepanik's "Hove Druid: I Stole Stone to Save Seagulls". This fake newspaper report affectionately and hilariously sends up Brighton's many New Age inhabitants as it tells how one of the local Druids tried to revive the local football club's waning fortunes.
    Science World
    I do hope that the editors, encouraged by their success, will do this all again

Fabulous Brighton is an anthology of stories celebrating this unique town, with all its wickedness, vitality, beauty and vulgarity. This is Brighton, but not quite as we know it ... Weird things happen here: there are a lot of aliens about, the Elf King lives in the Royal Pavilion, and the see freezes over at the flick of a switch. Why does the football team keep winning? Can the centre of the world's film industry really be at Hove? And what has it all got to do with Dr Theo's excellent tonic?

All of the authors are connected with Brighton, and most still live there. Some are well known, some newly-discovered talents, but all have a special affection for this town and will bring you more than you bargained for when you read these mysterious and fascinating tales.

Contains stories by Lynne Truss, Nigel Brown, Paul Laville, Peter James, Elizabeth Counihan, Deirdre Counihan, Liz Williams, Nick Szczepanik, Larry Matthews, Christopher Enby, Veronica Williams, and Peter T. Garratt.